Tags

, , , ,

Tomato Soup

 

Are you liking 2013 enough yet? Or may be it’s still too early to tell? So far, I have been doing OK.. occupied with office work, trying to accommodate schedules and meet deadlines and trust me that its only work this time. Well, I am hoping to make for the lost time. Now and in future. And honestly, I am eagerly, eagerly awaiting to welcome PDT – the daylight savings knob to be turned around, only a week more to go. And then there will be this forever sunshine that would last for atleast next 8 months or so. Longer days, warmer sun, and brighter skies that would greet you when you leave to and from work. And still you would have ample time to visit a beach: walk barefoot, make sand castles, splash some water on each other and watch the sunset. As I witness the glorious but tired warrior being swallowed by the waves, I know it’s time for us to go home too. Only to return tomorrow. And at the same time you feel so blessed.

Ok! Back from my version of futurama. So just the other day, I was warming up to some awesome tomato soup from Panera during lunch that I realized that I still have my own one such recipe to share. I had a chance to spend sometime to prepare this one during long Christmas holidays.. aah, I know, it’s definitely late but as people say, better late than never. And as some of us are claimed as last victims of cold, flu of the season (me!! me!!), this feels like the right right opportunity to share this warm tomato fennel bisque recipe. The method of slow oven roasting tomatoes and other veggies – fennel, carrot, celery, onion is fascinating. Although, I could have used time and tested way of boiling all the vegetables and straining them with a lot of time to spare but was keen on trying something different. And it definitely tasted zara hatt kar . Also, I did without the usual croutons as I felt lazy. Instead I chose to drizzle some sour cream as garnishing and used the European Sourdough bread as a side.

 

And with this post, let’s bid adieu to cool winters and welcome spring. Yes, yes, I can foresee myself biking all the time under the warm sun! In the meantime, I hope you enjoy the soup.

 

Tomoto in a basket


Veggies – Fennel, Carrot, Onion, Celery


Oven roasted tomatoes


Roasted veggies ready for boil

 

Strain vegetable broth to get soup

 
 

Add cream to make a bisque

 

Lightly roasted Sourdough bread with salted cream butter


  • Preparation Time: 1.5 hr
  • Cooking Time: 20 min
  • Recipe Level:  Easy
  • Serves 4
  • Source: None
  • Cuisine: Appetizers
Ingredients:
  • 1 kilogram of ripe red tomatoes
  • 1 fennel bulb
  • 1 celery stick
  • 1 onion bulb
  • 150 ml water or vegetable broth
  • 2 tbsp cooking or oil
  • 1 tbsp of sour cream
  • Half butter stick (optional)
  • Bread for side (optional)
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
Method:
  • Wash and core tomatoes.
  • Cut or slice other vegetables – celery, onion, carrots and fennel bulb. Discard fennel’s leafy part and use the bulb.
  • Grease veggies with oil and place them on baking or similar pan that is oven safe.
  • Preheat oven for 350 degrees in Fahrenheit or upto 175 Celsius.
  • Allow vegetables to slow roast in oven for atleast 1.5 hours.
  • After vegetables are roasted, put them in a large vessel or pot.
  • Add remaining oil and water (or vegetable broth) and allow the pot to boil.
  • After boiling for 30 min or so, most of the roasted veggies will disintegrate. Use a hand blender to further crush the content as if making a puree.
  • Remove from heat. And use a strainer to remove tomato skin and other undissolved stalks.
  • Discard the strainer contents and add salt, pepper to the remaining pot which is our soup.
  • Heat the soup if needed. And pipe some sour cream through a cone to garnish.
  • Toast bread and serve with soup as a side.
Enjoy tomato bisque

 

Mad Notes:
  • Slow heat vegetables for longer duration to help soften further.
  • Prepare croutons if needed by chopping bread into cubes and deep frying in oil.
  • Alternatively, use left over vegetable broth for added taste. And use less water for creamier and thicker quality.
  • By adding sour cream, turn your tomato soup to tomato bisque.
  • Add dollop of butter on bread to have soup the French way.
